Vue de Düsseldorf

Düsseldorf

Germany

The City of Düsseldorf is the capital of the German state of North Rhine-Westphalia and the seventh most populous city in the country. We are a center for international business with over 5000 international companies located in the metropolitan area and an exhibition center with 71 subsidiaries and representatives in 132 countries.

Apart from being an economical hub we also gained an international reputation in the field of arts and culture. Our Academy of Fine Arts brought forth artists such as Joseph Beuys, August Macke, and Gerhard Richter. On the banks of the RhineRiver, Düsseldorf holds its traditional Carnival celebrations every year in February. Our international, cultural, and economic diversity ranked us sixth in the world in Mercer's 2015 Quality of Living survey.

As any urbanized, metropolitan city Düsseldorf faces a variety of challenges. For me, as a Mayor, it is particularly important to provide sufficient housing for the constantly growing population. With the steady influx of people comes a variety of necessary infrastructure developments that will also help to provide efficient care for the many refugees that have been coming to Düsseldorf in recent months. This, of course, is an especially time-sensitive topic that requires the administration’s full efforts.

I am looking forward to work together with other city leaders from all over the world to learn from each other and to develop a more global perspective on current challenges and on chances that lie ahead. 

Thomas Geisel, Mayor of Düsseldorf

Mayor

Keys facts

  1. People from all five continents live in the city: around 20% of Düsseldorf’s population is non-German, including the biggest Japanese community in all of Europe.

  2. Düsseldorf is a “10-Minute City”: all the important sites, including the airport, are located within a 10 minute radius by car.

  3. Düsseldorf is located in the very heart of Europe and is connected to the most concentrated freeway network of the continent (and within a 2 hours radius by plane of main European Capital Cities).

Düsseldorf

Düsseldorf

Allemagne

Düsseldorf est la capitale de l'État allemand de Rhénanie du Nord-Westphalie et la septième ville la plus peuplée du pays. Nous sommes un pôle du commerce international incluant plus de 5000 entreprises internationales situées dans la région métropolitaine et un centre d'expositions avec 71 filiales et des représentants dans 132 pays.

Nous sommes plus qu’un pôle économique. Nous avons également acquis une réputation internationale dans le domaine des arts et de la culture : de notre Académie des Beaux-arts sont issus des artistes tels que Joseph Beuys, August Macke et Gerhard Richter. Chaque année, au mois de février, sur les rives du Rhin, Düsseldorf tient son traditionnel carnaval. Selon une enquête réalisée en 2015, grâce à notre diversité internationale, culturelle et économique, Düsseldorf se situe à la 6e position dans le monde en matière de qualité de vie.

Comme tout grand centre urbain, Düsseldorf fait face à un ensemble de défis. En tant que maire, il m’est particulièrement important de fournir suffisamment de logements à une population qui croît sans cesse. L'afflux constant de personnes nous amène à développer des infrastructures qui aideront aussi à fournir des soins efficaces pour les nombreuses personnes réfugiées qui sont arrivées à Düsseldorf au cours des derniers mois. Ceci est bien évidemment un sujet particulièrement sensible qui exige un effort de l’ensemble de l'administration.

Je me réjouis de collaborer avec d'autres leaders de villes de partout dans le monde afin d'apprendre de nos expériences et de développer une perspective plus globale sur les défis actuels et de l’avenir.

Thomas Geisel, Mayor of Düsseldorf

 

Maire

Faits chiffrés

  1. Des gens issus des cinq continents habitent à Düsseldorf: environ 20% de la population est d’origine étrangère, incluant notamment la plus grande communauté japonaise de toute l’Europe.

  2. Düsseldorf est une ville «à 10 minutes»: tous les sites importants, y compris l’aéroport, sont situés dans un rayon de 10 minutes en voiture.

  3. Düsseldorf est au cœur de l'Europe et est connecté au réseau d'autoroutes le plus concentré du continent (la ville est située dans un rayon de 2 heures en avion des principales capitales européennes).