Av Bourguiba

Tunis

Tunisia

Tunis is a crossroad of civilizations. Its culture is a synthesis of different influences accumulated over 3,000 years of history. By its central geographical position in the Mediterranean Basin, only 140 km away from Europe through the Strait of Sicily, anchored to the African continent, linked to the Maghreb region, to the Arab and Islamic world, Tunis was in the center of an expansion movement from Mediterranean civilizations and the main monotheistic religions. 

Tunis history reveals a past where Mediterranean cultures have succeeded themselves. The Berber –Amazighs – represented a cultural and ethnic constant to which were added other ethno cultural elements that have been integrated and assimilated to different degrees, leaving a legacy of more or less significance throughout the centuries. 

Thus, in the modern Tunis, culture is a synthesis of the mixed legacy of Berber, Punic, Roman, Arab, Turkish, European, African, Jewish, Christian and Islamic culture. 

These different influences can be found today in varied elements such as patrimonial sites, architecture, music, customs and traditions, traditional clothes, cuisine… 

But the most revealing element of the cultural identity remains, of course, language. The Tunisian way of speaking, although a variant of spoken Arabic, which shares numerous similarities with other variants of the modern Arabic, especially from the Maghreb region, incorporates numerous Euro-Mediterranean elements such as Italian, French, Spanish and Turkish influences, deeply integrated in the Arabic language. 

Thus, diversity is a characteristic of cultural identity and therefore a sign for a predisposition to intercultural dialogue within the urban community, which represents nearly the third of the Tunisian population. 

Saifallah Lasram, Mayor of Tunis

 

Mayor

Keys facts

  1. Tunis welcomes a significant number of immigrants coming from Libya, Syria and Sub-Saharan Africa as well as a considerable number of migrants from other Tunisian cities.

  2. Tunis is a city that has preserved a cultural, architectural and urbanistic heritage (Berber, Punic, Roman, Arab, French and Italian) rich and diverse reflecting a 3,000 years history.

  3. Tunis is a city of tolerance where three monotheistic religions are living together: Islam, Christianity and Judaism.

Av Bourguiba

Tunis

Tunisie

Tunis est un carrefour de civilisations. La culture de son territoire est une synthèse des différentes influences cumulées au fil de 3000 ans d’histoire. Par sa position géographique centrale dans le bassin méditerranéen, à seulement 140 km de l’Europe par le détroit de Sicile, ancré au continent africain, rattaché au Maghreb, au monde arabe et au monde islamique, Tunis a été au cœur du mouvement d’expansion des grandes civilisations de la Méditerranée et des principales religions monothéistes. 

Son histoire révèle ce passé où les cultures méditerranéennes se sont succédées. Les berbères – Amazighs – représentent une constante ethnique et culturelle à laquelle se sont ajoutées, au fil des siècles, d’autres composantes ethnoculturelles qui ont été intégrées et assimilées à différents degrés en laissant en héritage des empreintes plus ou moins fortes.

Ainsi, dans le Tunis moderne, la culture  est une synthèse de cet héritage métissé des cultures berbère, punique, romaine, arabe, turque, européenne, noire africaine, juive, chrétienne et islamique. 

Ces différentes influences se retrouvent aujourd’hui dans des éléments aussi variées que les sites du patrimoine, l’architecture, la musique, les us et coutumes, les habits traditionnels, la cuisine… 

Mais l’élément le plus révélateur de l’identité culturelle demeure, certes, la langue. Le parler tunisien qui, bien qu’étant une variante parlée de l’arabe qui partage de nombreux points communs avec les autres variétés modernes de l’arabe, en particulier celles du Maghreb, comporte de nombreux éléments d’influence euro-méditerranéenne comme l’italien, le français, l’espagnol et le turc, profondément assimilés et « arabisés ». 

Ainsi, la diversité est une caractéristique de l’identité culturelle et, partant, un signe de prédisposition au dialogue interculturel au sein d’une communauté urbaine qui représente prés du tiers de la population de la Tunisie.

 

Maire

Faits chiffrés

  1. Tunis accueille un nombre important d’immigrés qui viennent de Libye, de Syrie et de l’Afrique subsaharienne ainsi qu’un nombre considérable de migrants de toutes les autres villes tunisiennes.

  2. Tunis est une ville qui a su sauvegarder un patrimoine culturel, architectural et urbanistique (berbère, punique, romain, arabe et franco-italien) riche et diversifié qui témoigne d’une histoire trois fois millénaire.

  3. Tunis est une ville de tolérance là où les trois religions monothéistes : l’Islam, le Christianisme et le Judaïsme vivent ensemble.