Déclaration de Düsseldorf

Düsseldorf Declaration: mayors embrace diversity and inclusion!

September 5, 2019

At the conclusion of the 2nd International Mayors Summit on Living Together, mayors adopted the Düsseldorf Declaration in order to affirm their commitment to embrace diversity and inclusion.

(Photo credit: (c) Landeshaupstadt Düsseldorf/David Young)

In a context where cities are on the frontline of the global issue of Living Together, mayors from all over the world reaffirm their will to leave in peaceful and inclusive societies, where no one is left behind.

As cities work everyday to improve social cohesion within the community, through this declaration, mayors engage more specifically to:

- Effectively promote Living Together, by the implementation of concrete actions on the ground.

- Promote the International Day on Living Together in Peace (IDLTP), including the designation of a Capital of Living Together each year.

Signatory Cities:

Abidjan - Algiers - Arnhem - Bamako - Bjelina - Carthage - Chemnitz - Chernivts - Dhaka (North) - Drummondville - Düsseldorf - Gatineau - Glasgow - Haifa - Izmir - Kolkata - Libreville - Malaga - Marrakesh - Montréal - Moscow - Mostar - New York - Ouagadougou - Palermo - Porto-Novo - Rabat - Reading - Sceaux - Strasbourg - Toulouse - Tunis - Warsaw - Venlo - Vienna

The Düsseldorf Declaration (2019) is in continuity with the Montréal Declaration (2015), which led to the creation of the International Observatory of Mayors on Living Together.

Since its creation in 2017 - and before - the Observatory supports the celebration of the International Day on Living Together in Peace, which is observed every year on 16 May. In preparation of the Summit in Düsseldorf, the Observatory, in cooperation with other partners, celebrated the International Day on Living Together in Peace through an event at UNESCO.

See Düsseldorf Declaration.

International Day on Living Together in Peace - UN webpage

To know more: http://16mai.org/ - Watch Presentation video.