Vue de Québec

Québec

Canada

Founded more than 400 years ago, cradle of the French language in North America, a world heritage site, Québec is today a modern city that is known for its cultural vitality and economic success. 

Capital of the province, Quebec has 517,000 citizens, of which 90% speak French as their mother tongue. Its population is proud of its origins, its history and its culture that has been protected in a largely English-speaking continent. 

His economy is based on knowledge, high technology, research, insurance, tourism and culture makes Québec city one of the most prosperous cities in the country. At once festive and safe, Quebec offers a warm welcome to the approximately 5 million visitors each year. 

In a city such as ours, the greatest challenge of living together is to identify and implement measures that will enable all of our citizens to live the difference in their everyday life, in the respect of the rights and dignity of everyone, but also in the fundamental values on which our society rests. To meet this challenge, we must build on the many benefits that everyone can withdraw from the sharing of knowledge and the openness to all cultures. 

Régis Labeaume, Mayor of Québec

Québec

Québec

Canada

C’est à Québec qu’en premier on a accroché un accent sur l’Amérique, il y a plus de 400 ans. Berceau de la francophonie en sol nord-américain, joyau du patrimoine mondial, Québec est aujourd’hui une ville moderne qui se démarque par son dynamisme culturel et ses succès économiques.

Capitale de la province, Québec compte 517 000 citoyens dont 90 % ont le français comme langue maternelle. Sa population est fière de ses origines, de son histoire et de sa culture qu’elle a su préserver sur un continent largement anglophone. 

Son économie axée sur le savoir, la haute technologie, la recherche, l’assurance, le tourisme et la culture en fait l’une des villes les plus prospères au pays. Tout à la fois festive et sécuritaire, Québec réserve un accueil chaleureux aux quelques 5 millions de personnes qui la visitent chaque année. 

Dans une ville comme la nôtre, le plus grand défi du vivre ensemble est d’identifier et de mettre en œuvre des mesures qui permettront à tous nos citoyens de vivre la différence au quotidien, dans le respect des droits et de la dignité de chacun, mais aussi dans le respect des valeurs fondamentales sur lesquelles s’appuie notre société. Pour relever ce défi, il nous faudra miser sur les nombreux bénéfices que chacun peut retirer du partage des savoirs et de l’ouverture à toutes les cultures.

Régis Labeaume, Maire de Québec